“There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can’t. What you’ve got to do is turn around and say ‘watch me’.” – Unknown

7 Jul

First and foremost, I am SO incredibly sorry that I have been SUCH an incredible slacker about posting. I’d like to tell you I was off doing fabulous things (I mean I kind of was – I DID get a whole year older. Gah.) or that I have gotten SO much accomplished in this blogger downtime that I am now the most organized human being ever. But honestly, normal life just got busy (you’ll see how busy later). And the warm weather has me wanting to be outside so much, I daren’t be stuck inside on the computer while precious moments of sun escape me. This lady Casper needs her vitamin B, like WHOA.

That being said, I’m committing myself to updating at the very least once a week. I think I can do that, don’t you?! Okay great. Now that we’re on the same page …. a big thanks go to http://postitsfromtheedge.wordpress.com/, for the quote today. It’s a blog I found thanks to this blog I’m mildly obsessed with www.smartprettyawkward.com. And seriously, when I read it I got so jazzed for life, I just had to share.

I realize jazzed is not a word you hear so often anymore, but I’m kind of a wordsmith with one liners these days, so kiddies it your new word-du-jour – Brittany style – spread it like wild-fire. I’ve been doing this a lot recently. Using random words and claiming them as my own.  And while I cannot claim their coinage, I can claim their recent additions to friends vocabularies.  The most recent ones include: snarky, geek-out, and my newest favorite AGGRESSIVE. I use this last one probably far too much for my own good, or to my friends liking, but hey I like using adjectives for nouns and adverbs sometimes, so. sue. me. It gets my point across without being all wordy. And sometimes I like to be non-wordy.  Although clearly not today because I’ve already wasted three paragraphs babbling about goodness knows what. But then again, I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t go off on needless tangents like this one every once in a while, would I?

So back to the quote. I read it and it literally made me want to try about a babillion (add that to the list) new things all at once.  So guess what I did? I started joining things and signing up for things and thoroughly bogging down my schedule – do we understand the busy part now?  I not only now play for a softball team on Sundays (we’re not very good, but I love my Dark Chocolate teammates all the same – our T-Shirts are a hideous shade of brown and we find this nickname amusing), and I’m taking a belly dancing class on Mondays (which is BOAT LOADS harder than it looks. You think ohh okay I’m just gonna shimmy and shake my hips a bit and twirl my hands and bingo bango I’m belly dancing. But it. Is. HARD.). Anywho, softball has led me to the realization that sports scare me. It’s probably why I was never very good at them in the first place. I don’t like being hurt, and I’m a bit of a baby so NO thanks do I want a giant object hurdling itself at me at several tens of miles per hour. But I’m giving it my best shot and when I fail miserably, I almost don’t care. Almost. I’m working on that part.  As for belly dancing, what has it taught me? Well first, that some things take a lot of work and practice – again, it’s hard. But that secondly, you should never not do something you love because it’s slightly out of the ordinary. If you’ve got a passion – go for it. Our instructor is a friend’s mother, and she might be the coolest lady I’ve ever met (with the small exception of my mom – and yes I realize I’m a bit biased there). Not only is she jazzed (see what I did there) about belly dancing, but she makes me WANT to be jazzed about it, even if I’m terrible. So thank you to her, because she’s a lovely once a week reminder that I need to go find some passions in my life and start freakin’ pursuing them!

So what else am I doing you ask? Oh THAT’s right. I’m going skydiving in a few weeks. Yup, this girl is jumping herself right out of an airplane. I’m probably nuts, but you only live once, right?! Right.  There are also summer plans in the works for hiking a mountain and several road races.  If you’re thinking I can’t do these things because I’m a bit out of shape, I honestly don’t blame you. But I would just like to say … WATCH ME.  Then watch me do it again. Because I am boatloads of determined these days.  And by watch, I literally do mean watch, because guess who’s finally going to get her butt in gear and post some photos up? Yup, me.  I’ll try to get one of my softball mates. Can’t promise belly dancing ones though, it’s hard to get across in pictures.  But I should be able to get some of the other stuff I have planned for my summer, so stay tuned.

And honestly, get out there and start doing. Find something to be jazzed about. I’m trying to find my something as we speak, and so far, while nothing has completely caught, I’m pretty sure I’m on the right path and I’ll get there someday.

One Response to ““There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can’t. What you’ve got to do is turn around and say ‘watch me’.” – Unknown”

  1. Britny December 21, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    It was Justin Bieber ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

